CMG Training:
Introduction to CMG's Modelling Workflows

Learn the basics of reservoir simulation and how to build a black oil simulation model using the latest pre-processing and post-processing technology available for CMG simulators. These include Builder, which handles data preparation for black oil (IMEX), compositional (GEM) and advanced thermal/chemical processes (STARS) simulators.

Practice importing basic raw data such as geological maps, PVT data, core analysis, production data, and perforation/completion events into Builder to create a complete dataset, initially for IMEX. Use Results to view the simulation output. Analytical correlations in PVT and/or rock permeability curves will also be discussed in more detail.

After completing the course, you will be able to build a basic black oil simulation model and apply a similar approach to create a compositional GEM dataset or a thermal STARS dataset.

Course Content

  • Introduction to Builder, different map formats:
    • Cartesian
    • Orthogonal
    • Non-orthogonal corner point grids on
  • Interpolation, edit reservoir properties, add/delete wells including vertical and horizontal wells
  • Add aquifers, PVT data, relative permeability curves, and smoothe/adjust data graphically
  • Analytical correlations used in preparing PVT data and rock/fluid properties
  • Define fluid contacts, set reference pressure, select different initialization methods
  • Create recurrent well data and production history files based on general field production data
  • Define well perforations and create restart records for prediction runs
  • Validate data, run tests, and review results using Results
  • Create different Results template files, multiple plots, and Excel style reports

For inquiries regarding CMG training courses, please contact us by Email or Phone at +1.403.531.1300.

Course Availability

Bogota
Course Name / Location Course Date
Introduction to CMG's Modelling Workflows (Bogota) (082217) Bogota
Tue, 08/22/2017 - 08:30 to Wed, 08/23/2017 - 16:30
Introduction to CMG's Modelling Workflows (Bogota) (090717) Bogota
Thu, 09/07/2017 - 08:30 to Fri, 09/08/2017 - 16:30
Introduction to CMG's Modelling Workflows (Bogota) (110217) Bogota
Thu, 11/02/2017 - 08:30 to Fri, 11/03/2017 - 16:30
Calgary
Course Name / Location Course Date
Introduction to CMG's Modelling Workflows (Calgary) (082817) Calgary
Mon, 08/28/2017 - 08:30 to Tue, 08/29/2017 - 16:30
Introduction to CMG's Modelling Workflows (Calgary) (100217) Calgary
Mon, 10/02/2017 - 08:30 to Tue, 10/03/2017 - 16:30
Introduction to CMG's Modelling Workflows (Calgary) (111317) Calgary
Mon, 11/13/2017 - 08:30 to Tue, 11/14/2017 - 16:30
Introduction to CMG's Modelling Workflows (Calgary) (120417) Calgary
Mon, 12/04/2017 - 08:30 to Tue, 12/05/2017 - 16:30
Houston
Course Name / Location Course Date
Introduction to CMG's Modelling Workflows (Houston) (091117) Houston
Mon, 09/11/2017 - 08:30 to Wed, 09/13/2017 - 16:30
Introduction to CMG's Modelling Workflows (Houston) (100217) Houston
Mon, 10/02/2017 - 08:30 to Wed, 10/04/2017 - 16:30
Introduction to CMG's Modelling Workflows (Houston) (110617) Houston
Mon, 11/06/2017 - 08:30 to Wed, 11/08/2017 - 16:30
London
Course Name / Location Course Date
Introduction to CMG's Modelling Workflows (London) (100917) London
Mon, 10/09/2017 - 09:00 to Tue, 10/10/2017 - 16:30
Introduction to CMG's Modelling Workflows (London) (110617) London
Mon, 11/06/2017 - 09:00 to Tue, 11/07/2017 - 16:30

Available on...

August
S M T W T F S
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31
 
 
 
Please Note: In order to register for CMG courses, please click here to login to your online account, or click the icon above