Builder logo
CMG Training:
Introduction to CMG's Modelling Workflows
Check Availability
Learn the basics of reservoir simulation and how to build a black oil simulation model using the latest pre-processing and post-processing technology available for CMG simulators. These include Builder, which handles data preparation for black oil (IMEX), compositional (GEM) and advanced thermal/chemical processes (STARS) simulators.

Practice importing basic raw data such as geological maps, PVT data, core analysis, production data, and perforation/completion events into Builder to create a complete dataset, initially for IMEX. Use Results to view the simulation output. Analytical correlations in PVT and/or rock permeability curves will also be discussed in more detail.

After completing the course, you will be able to build a basic black oil simulation model and apply a similar approach to create a compositional GEM dataset or a thermal STARS dataset.

Course Content

  • Introduction to Builder, different map formats:
    • Cartesian
    • Orthogonal
    • Non-orthogonal corner point grids on
  • Interpolation, edit reservoir properties, add/delete wells including vertical and horizontal wells
  • Add aquifers, PVT data, relative permeability curves, and smoothe/adjust data graphically
  • Analytical correlations used in preparing PVT data and rock/fluid properties
  • Define fluid contacts, set reference pressure, select different initialization methods
  • Create recurrent well data and production history files based on general field production data
  • Define well perforations and create restart records for prediction runs
  • Validate data, run tests, and review results using Results
  • Create different Results template files, multiple plots, and Excel style reports

For inquiries regarding CMG training courses, please contact us by Email or Phone at +1.403.531.1300.

Course Availability

Calgary
Course Name / Location Course Date
Introduction to CMG's Modelling Workflows (Calgary) (010719) Calgary Mon, 01/07/2019 - 08:30 to Tue, 01/08/2019 - 16:30
Introduction to CMG's Modelling Workflows (Calgary) (021119) Calgary Mon, 02/11/2019 - 08:30 to Tue, 02/12/2019 - 16:30
Introduction to CMG's Modelling Workflows (Calgary) (031119) Calgary Mon, 03/11/2019 - 08:30 to Tue, 03/12/2019 - 16:30
Houston
Course Name / Location Course Date
Introduction to CMG's Modelling Workflows (Houston) (010719) Houston Mon, 01/07/2019 - 08:30 to Tue, 01/08/2019 - 16:30
Introduction to CMG's Modelling Workflows (Houston) (020419) Houston Mon, 02/04/2019 - 08:30 to Tue, 02/05/2019 - 16:30
Introduction to CMG's Modelling Workflows (Houston) (030419) Houston Mon, 03/04/2019 - 08:30 to Tue, 03/05/2019 - 16:30
Introduction to CMG's Modelling Workflows (Houston) (040119) Houston Mon, 04/01/2019 - 08:30 to Tue, 04/02/2019 - 16:30
Introduction to CMG's Modelling Workflows (Houston) (050619) Houston Mon, 05/06/2019 - 08:30 to Tue, 05/07/2019 - 16:30
Introduction to CMG's Modelling Workflows (Houston) (060319) Houston Mon, 06/03/2019 - 08:30 to Tue, 06/04/2019 - 16:30
Wallingford
Course Name / Location Course Date
Introduction to CMG's Modelling Workflows (Wallingford) (012819) Wallingford Mon, 01/28/2019 - 09:00 to Tue, 01/29/2019 - 16:30
Introduction to CMG's Modelling Workflows (Wallingford) (022519) Wallingford Mon, 02/25/2019 - 09:00 to Tue, 02/26/2019 - 16:30
Introduction to CMG's Modelling Workflows (Wallingford) (040119) Wallingford Mon, 04/01/2019 - 09:00 to Tue, 04/02/2019 - 16:30

Available on...

S M T W T F S
 
 
 
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31
 
 
 
 
 
 
Please Note: In order to register for CMG courses, please click here to login to your online account, or click the icon above