CMG Training:
Introduction to CMG's Modelling Workflows

Learn the basics of reservoir simulation and how to build a black oil simulation model using the latest pre-processing and post-processing technology available for CMG simulators. These include Builder, which handles data preparation for black oil (IMEX), compositional (GEM) and advanced thermal/chemical processes (STARS) simulators.

Practice importing basic raw data such as geological maps, PVT data, core analysis, production data, and perforation/completion events into Builder to create a complete dataset, initially for IMEX. Use Results to view the simulation output. Analytical correlations in PVT and/or rock permeability curves will also be discussed in more detail.

After completing the course, you will be able to build a basic black oil simulation model and apply a similar approach to create a compositional GEM dataset or a thermal STARS dataset.

Course Content

  • Introduction to Builder, different map formats:
    • Cartesian
    • Orthogonal
    • Non-orthogonal corner point grids on
  • Interpolation, edit reservoir properties, add/delete wells including vertical and horizontal wells
  • Add aquifers, PVT data, relative permeability curves, and smoothe/adjust data graphically
  • Analytical correlations used in preparing PVT data and rock/fluid properties
  • Define fluid contacts, set reference pressure, select different initialization methods
  • Create recurrent well data and production history files based on general field production data
  • Define well perforations and create restart records for prediction runs
  • Validate data, run tests, and review results using Results
  • Create different Results template files, multiple plots, and Excel style reports

For inquiries regarding CMG training courses, please contact us by Email or Phone at +1.403.531.1300.

Course Availability

Bogota
Course Name / Location Course Date
Introduction to CMG's Modelling Workflows (Bogota) (070518) Bogota
Thu, 07/05/2018 - 08:30 to Fri, 07/06/2018 - 16:30
Introduction to CMG's Modelling Workflows (Bogota) (090618) Bogota
Thu, 09/06/2018 - 08:30 to Fri, 09/07/2018 - 16:30
Introduction to CMG's Modelling Workflows (Bogota) (110118) Bogota
Thu, 11/01/2018 - 08:30 to Fri, 11/02/2018 - 16:30
Calgary
Course Name / Location Course Date
Introduction to CMG's Modelling Workflows (Calgary) (062518) Calgary
Mon, 06/25/2018 - 08:30 to Tue, 06/26/2018 - 16:30
Introduction to CMG's Modelling Workflows (Calgary) (072318) Calgary
Mon, 07/23/2018 - 08:30 to Tue, 07/24/2018 - 16:30
Introduction to CMG's Modelling Workflows (Calgary) (082718) Calgary
Mon, 08/27/2018 - 08:30 to Tue, 08/28/2018 - 16:30
Introduction to CMG's Modelling Workflows (Calgary) (092418) Calgary
Mon, 09/24/2018 - 08:30 to Tue, 09/25/2018 - 16:30
Heriot Watt University, Edinburgh
Course Name / Location Course Date
Introduction to CMG's Modelling Workflows (Heriot Watt University) (112618) Heriot Watt University, Edinburgh
Mon, 11/26/2018 - 09:00 to Tue, 11/27/2018 - 16:30
Houston
Course Name / Location Course Date
Introduction to CMG's Modelling Workflows (Houston) (070918) Houston
Mon, 07/09/2018 - 08:30 to Tue, 07/10/2018 - 16:30
Introduction to CMG's Modelling Workflows (Houston) (080618) Houston
Mon, 08/06/2018 - 08:30 to Tue, 08/07/2018 - 16:30
Introduction to CMG's Modelling Workflows (Houston) (090518) Houston
Wed, 09/05/2018 - 08:30 to Thu, 09/06/2018 - 16:30
Introduction to CMG's Modelling Workflows (Houston) (100118) Houston
Mon, 10/01/2018 - 08:30 to Tue, 10/02/2018 - 16:30
Introduction to CMG's Modelling Workflows (Houston) (110518) Houston
Mon, 11/05/2018 - 08:30 to Tue, 11/06/2018 - 16:30
Wallingford
Course Name / Location Course Date
Introduction to CMG's Modelling Workflows (Wallingford) (092418) Wallingford
Mon, 09/24/2018 - 09:00 to Tue, 09/25/2018 - 16:30
Introduction to CMG's Modelling Workflows (Wallingford) (102218) Wallingford
Mon, 10/22/2018 - 09:00 to Tue, 10/23/2018 - 16:30

Available on...

June
S M T W T F S
 
 
 
 
 
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
Please Note: In order to register for CMG courses, please click here to login to your online account, or click the icon above