STARS logo
CMG Training:
Introduction to Thermal EOR Modelling

Due to the current developing situation with COVID-19 (Coronavirus), many of CMG's training courses have been suspended.

Please check back for more updates.

This training course introduces thermal enhanced oil recovery (EOR) simulation using CMG technology. Learn the various facets of thermal EOR modelling including:
  • Component design
  • Thermal properties
  • Relative permeability interpolation
Discuss advanced thermal modelling concepts and applications such as reaction kinetics, adsorption and advanced wellbore modelling. Build your expertise through a series of hands-on exercises that emphasize on steam flood and cyclic steam stimulation (CSS) applications.

This course provides engineers, geologists and other technical personnel with the information and techniques required to build a simple STARS dataset and explore complex STARS functions.

Course Content

  • Overview of STARS Features and Applications:
    • A three-phase Multi-component Thermal and Steam Additive Simulator
    • Understanding the STARS component concept (K-values)
    • Thermal Properties
    • Reactions
    • Relative permeability Interpolation and Scaling.
  • Other advanced capabilities:
    • Chemical applications including reactions & Component adsorption
    • Geochemistry
    • Solids deposition and migration
    • Dynamic Gridding
    • Non petroleum process application (medical & biochemical).
  • Exercises:
    • Creation of Cyclic Steam Base Model
    • Implementation of Cyclic Steam Stimulation (CSS)
    • Implementing the Dilation Re-compaction model
    • Changing a Steam Flood into a Water Flood
    • Changing Cyclic Steam into Primary Production
    • Increasing Oil Viscosity.

For inquiries regarding CMG training courses, please contact us by
Email or Phone at +1.403.531.1300.

Meals and refreshments are included in all course fees
Calgary
Course Date
Wednesday, 6 May, 2020 - 08:30 to Thursday, 7 May, 2020 - 16:30
Wednesday, 3 June, 2020 - 08:30 to Thursday, 4 June, 2020 - 16:30
Wednesday, 15 July, 2020 - 08:30 to Thursday, 16 July, 2020 - 16:30
Wednesday, 19 August, 2020 - 08:30 to Thursday, 20 August, 2020 - 16:30
Wednesday, 16 September, 2020 - 08:30 to Thursday, 17 September, 2020 - 16:30
Houston
Course Date
Wednesday, 27 May, 2020 - 08:30 to Friday, 29 May, 2020 - 16:30